Dafanews India

India Cricket News

Aakash Chopra picks his Test XI of the decade, includes only two Indians

Cricket   |   December 16, 2020



Former Indian opener and now a renowned commentator Aakash Chopra has picked Test XI of the decade in which he included only two Indian players. Former England skipper Alastair Cook and former Proteas batsman Hashim Amla open the innings for Chopra.

Cook amassed 12472 runs in 161 Test matches at an average of 45.4 in his glorious career. Amla also did a fine job for South Africa and the flamboyant right-hander scored 9282 runs in 124 Test matches at an average of 46.4. Australia’s talisman batsman Steve Smith bats at number three for the commentator.

Smith is currently the number one Test batsman and he has scored 7227 runs in 73 Test matches at an impressive average of 63.8. The Indian skipper Virat Kohli bats at number four for Aakash Chopra as the talisman has scored 7240 runs in 86 Test matches at an average of 53.6.

Former Sri Lankann legend Kumar Sangakkar keeps the wickets in the team. The left-hander accumulated 12400 runs in 134 Test matches at a fine average of 57.4. England’s linchpin all-rounder Ben Stokes bats at number six for Aakash Chopra. Stokes has gathered 4428 runs at an average of 37.8 and he has also scalped 158 wickets in 67 Test matches.

Ravichandra Ashwin and former Sri Lankan spinner Rangana Herath are the two spinners in the team. Ashwin has snared 365 wickets in 71 Test matches and he has also scored 2389 runs. Herath scalped 433 wickets for the Island nation in 93 Test matches.

Dale Steyn and James Anderson are the fast bowlers for Aakash Chopra. Steyn dominated during his halcyon days and he claimed 439 wickets in 93 Test matches at an average of 22.95. James Anderson is currently the leading wicket-taker as a fast bowler in Test format and he has bagged 600 wickets in 156 Test matches.

Aakash Chopra’s Test team of the decade: Alastair Cook, Hashim Amla, Steve Smith, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rangana Herath, Dale Steyn, James Anderson.


Embed Code