Dafanews India

India Cricket News

Aakash Chopra picks ODI XI of the decade, picks MS Dhoni as captain

MS Dhoni

Cricket   |   December 14, 2020



Former Indian opener and now a commentator Aakash Chopra has selected his ODI XI of the last decade. Chopra picked four Indian players in his team, in which he selected MS Dhoni as the captain and wicket-keeper of the team. India’s opener Rohit Sharma and former South African batsman Hashim Amla are the openers of the team.

Rohit is one of the best ODI batsmen in the world and he has scored 9115 runs in 228 ODI matches at an average of 49.3. Hashim Amla was a consistent performer for the Proteas and the stylish batsman scored 8113 runs in 181 ODI matches at 49.5.

Chopra picked Virat Kohli to bat at number three and the Indian skipper is the most consistent ODI batsman. Kohli has amassed 12040 runs in 251 ODI at an unbelievable average of 59.3. The former Indian opener selected AB de Villiers to bat at number four. The former Proteas skipper accumulated 9577 runs in 228 ODIs at an average of 53.5.

MS Dhoni bats at number five for Aakash Chopra and the former Indian captain scored 10773 runs in 350 ODI matches at an impressive average of 50.7. Shakib Al Hasan is the solitary all-rounder in Chopra’s team and he bats at number six. The Bangladesh player has gathered 6323 runs in 206 matches and he has also snared 260 wickets.

Mohammad Hafeez bats at number seven for Aakash Chopra. The Pakistan batsman has scored 6614 runs and he has also scalped 139 wickets in 218 matches.

Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Starc constitute the pace battery of the team whereas Imran Tahir is the main spinner of the side. Malinga took 338 wickets in 226 ODI matches for Sri Lanka. Bumrah has snared 108 wickets in 67 ODI matches at an average of 25.3. Starc has bagged 184 wickets in 96 ODI matches whereas Imran Tahir has claimed 173 wickets in 107 ODI matches.

Aakash Chopra’s ODI team of the decade: Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Hafeez, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Starc, Jasprit Bumrah, Imran Tahir


Embed Code