Dafanews India

India Cricket News

BCCI announces schedule for Dream11 IPL 2020

Cricket   |   September 7, 2020



The Board of Control for Cricket in India has finally announced the schedule of the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League 2020. The Indian board was expected to announce the schedule earlier but had delayed the same as 13 members of the Chennai Super Kings camp had tested positive for Covid-19.

The curtain raiser of the tournament will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and runners-up, Chennai Super Kings at Abu Dhabi on 19 September, the BCCI has confirmed. The second match of the tournament will be played between Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab at Dubai on 20th September.

Subsequently, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore will play their opening match against each other on 21st September at Dubai. Meanwhile, Sharjah will host its opening match when inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals will play their opener against three-time champions, CSK.

Meanwhile, there will be 10 double headers, the first of which will take place on October 3. Afternoon matches will begin 30 minutes earlier compared to the previous schedule as the matches will start from 1530 IST. The evening matches which used to begin from 2000 IST will now start from 1730 IST.

In fact, five matches out of the 10 double headers will be hosted by Abu Dhabi whereas Dubai will host four afternoon games. All the eight franchises will play at least two day games whereas RCB, SRH, KKR and RR will play three afternoon matches.

The reigning champions Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders will play eight of their league matches in Abu Dhabi whereas SRH will play eight of their games in Dubai. CSK, RCB, KXIP and DC will play seven matches each in Dubai.

Rajasthan Royals will play five matches in Abu Dhabi and six of their matches in Dubai. All the eight franchises will play three matches each in Dubai. Overall, Dubai will host 24 matches, Abu Dhabi will host 20 whereas Sharjah will host 12 matches of the league stages.


Embed Code