Dafanews India

India Cricket News

IPL 2020: Sunil Gavaskar picks ideal playing XI for RCB

Cricket   |   September 21, 2020



Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar has selected an ideal playing for RCB in the ongoing IPL. Gavaskar picked Aaron Finch and Parthiv Patel as openers for RCB. Finch has all the experience under his belt and he will add value to the top of the order for RCB. The Australian white ball captain has scored 1737 runs in 75 IPL matches.

Parthiv Patel is also an experienced campaigner and the southpaw has amassed 2848 runs in 139 IPL matches. Gavaskar wants RCB skipper Virat Kohli to bat one down. Kohli is the highest run-getter of the tournament as he has racked up 5412 runs in 177 IPL matches. AB de Villiers will bat at number four for Gavaskar. The former South African captain has amassed 4395 runs in 154 IPL matches.

Gavaskar picked Shivam Dube to bat at number five. The Mumbai batsman has the skills to hit the ball a long way. The all-rounder has thus far played only four IPL matches.

The Little Master wants Chris Morris, who was roped in for a whopping amount of INR 10 crores, to bat number six. Morris has a good yorker under his repertoire and thus he can put paid to RCB’s death bowling woes. He has scored 517 runs in 61 IPL matches and the all-rounder has also scalped 69 wickets.

Gavaskar backed young Washington Sundar to bat at number seven. Sundar can bowl economically in the powerplay overs and he has claimed 16 wickets in 21 IPL matches.

The former Indian captain wants either Umesh Yadav or Pawan Negi to be part of the final XI. Yuzvendra Chahal will be the main spinner for RCB and he has scalped 100 wickets in 84 IPL matches.

Sri Lanka’s Isuru Udana and India’s Navdeep Saini will constitute the pace battery of the team. Saini has snared 11 wickets in 13 IPL matches whereas Udana will make his IPL debut.

Sunil Gavaskar’s RCB XI for IPL 2020 while talking to Sports Tak: Aaron Finch, Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Umesh Yadav / Pawan Negi, Isuru Udana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini.

Embed Code