Dafanews India

India Cricket News

Playoffs schedule announced, Dubai to host IPL 2020 final

Playoffs schedule announced, Dubai to host IPL 2020 final

Cricket   |   October 26, 2020


The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the playoffs schedule for the ongoing IPL 2020.

Dubai International Cricket Stadium will host the final of the 13th edition of the league on 10th November at 1930 IST. It would be the first time in the history of the tournament that the final would be played on a weekday.

Meanwhile, the first qualifier will be played on 5th November at Dubai. The Eliminator and the second qualifier will be hosted at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on 6th and 8th November respectively.

As has been the case over the years in the IPL, the first two teams of the points table will lock horns with each other in the first qualifier whereas the teams which will finish third and fourth will square off in the Eliminator.

The winner of the first qualifier will seal their place in the final of the tournament whereas the losing side will receive another shot. The losing team of the first qualifier will meet the winner of the Eliminator in the second qualifier. The winner of the second qualifier will make its way into the final of the tournament.

Meanwhile, currently Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore look all set to finish among the top two teams of the league stage as all three of them have won seven matches out of the 11 they have played. Thus, all of them are one win away from securing their playoffs berth.

The fight for the fourth team is heating up between Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab. KKR have won six matches out of the 11 whereas Punjab have made a roaring comeback into the competition as they have won five matches out of the 11 they have played after winning four consecutive matches.

The match on Monday between these two teams at Sharjah Cricket Stadium will be instrumental in deciding the fourth team of the playoffs. Meanwhile, CSK have been officially disqualified from the playoffs race.

Embed Code