Dafanews India

India Cricket News

West Indies meets India’s 288-run target to win 1st ODI Series

Cricket   |   December 16, 2019


West Indies beat India 287 target in the 1st ODI played in Chennai on Sunday. They beat the host by eight wickets.

The host who batted first accumulated 287 through Rishabh Pant (71), Shreyas Iyer (70), Kedar Jadhav (40) and Ravindra Jadeja (21).

When it was their time to bat, Shimron Hetmyer had the opportunity of hitting his career-best 139 with 106 balls. The left-hander achieved this after smashing seven sixes and 11 fours during his majestic innings. He would have loved to do more but was gotten rid of by Mohammed Shami.

The chase started with opener Shai Hope made 102 not out who hit six and seven fours to reach the landmark in his 8th ODIs. The opener during the game hit three fours for his half-century, putting on a 150-run partnership for the second wicket with Shimron Hetmyer (96*).

Hetmyer had during the game received a long treatment in the middle for his cramp before he continued after not looking comfortable.

Meeting their target of 288 in 47.5 overs means the Windies are now in the lead of the three-match series 1-0.

While fielding, Sunil Ambris had opened the account for the Windies with two fours off Mohammed Shami in the over while 150 came up for India in 31.3 overs. Nicholas Pooran later completed the turn around by hitting back-to-back fours off Shivam Dube, which got Windies the win.

Speaking after the win Shai Hope, who recorded 218 runs for the second wicket, said he is feeling some little bit of cramp, being the reason why he is not smiling too much. He added that his main goal was to stay as long as possible, which will allow assessing the situation.

Speaking of the pitch, he said it was a bit of the slow turner, making batting easy.
India Squad: Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

West Indies: Shai Hope(w), Sunil Ambris, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Kieron Pollard(c), Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Hayden Walsh, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell.


Written by: Oladipupo Mojeed

Embed Code