Dafanews India

India Cricket News

Indian Hockey Women’s Team names a 20-Member Team for New Zealand Tour

Field Hockey   |   January 16, 2020



The Hockey India women’s team on Tuesday released a 20-member squad for the New Zealand Tour, which is set to begin on the 25th of January 2020 in Auckland, New Zealand.

The Hockey team led by Rani and Vice Captain Savita including other players like Rajini Etimarpu, Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Reena Khokhar, Salima Tete, Sushila Chanu, Nisha, Namita Toppo, Udita, Monika, Lilima Minz, Neha, Sonika, Sharmila Devi, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur.

The Hockey team first match will be against the New Zealand rising squad on 25th January 2020, before they face the New Zealand Women’s team on 27th and 29th of January, after which they will play against Great Britain on the 4th of February and then wrap up the tour with another match with the New Zealand Women’s team on 5th of February 2020.

Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne revealed about the tour that he wants to use the tournament as a medium to create more competition within the team. Although they are taking a 20-member team, the coach said he would play with 16 teams, and it will be based on rotation. This is because they can only play with 16 individuals at the Olympics and sometimes 18 individuals.

In contrast to this, each player has to give their best and perform under pressure so that they can maintain the right momentum needed for matches.

Marijne added that playing against England/Great Britain and New Zealand, who are ranked no.5 and no.6 in the world respectively, provides an excellent opportunity to showcase their best performances.

Indian Women’s Hockey Team for New Zealand Tour.

1. Rani [ Captain]
2. Savita [Vice Captain]
3. Rajini Etimarpu,
4. Deep Grace Ekka,
5. Gurjit Kaur,
6. Reena Khokhar,
7. Salima Tete,
8. Sushila Chanu,
9. Nisha,
10. Namita Toppo,
11. Udita,
12. Monika,
13. Lilima Minz,
14. Neha,
15. Sonika,
16. Sharmila Devi,
17. Navneet Kaur,
18. Lalremsiami,
19. Vandana Katariya,
20. Navjot Kaur.


Written by: Olumide Akinnifesi

Embed Code