Dafanews India

India Cricket News

WFI releases travel dates and Indian squad for Individual World Cup

Other Sports   |   December 3, 2020



The Wrestling Federation of India recently announced the travel dates and the squad for the Individual World Cup which is supposed to be held in Belgrade from December 12 to 18.

The Greco-Roman Competition will kick off the tournament and it will go on till the next day, that is December 13. The Women’s wrestling events will follow and the event will concluded with the freestyle competition. The Indian teams are expected to travel following strict COVID-19 protocols.

2020 Asian Championships bronze medallist Arjun Halakurki will spearhead the Greco-Roman Team. They will travel on the night of December 9. The Women’s wrestling team will depart on December 12. Rio Olympic Bronze medalist Sakshi Malik is a part of it.

The freestyle team, which consists of the likes of Asian Championships silver medallist Gaurav Baliyan, Commonwealth Games silver medallist Satyavrat Kadian, will be the last to leave for Individual World Cup.

Three players — 2019 Asian Championships silver medallist Gurpreet Singh, 2010 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Narsingh Yadav and 2018 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Divya Kakran — had tested positive for COVID-19 recently. Singh and Yadav have already been discharged from the hospital and are currently quarantining at home. If all three test negative in the next few days and thus are given clearance to participate in the event, they can travel to Belgrade to compete.

Meanwhile, two of India’s star wrestlers — Bajrang Punia and Vinesh Phogat — have opted out of this event in order to prepare themselves better for the Tokyo Olympics.


Full squad for Individual World Cup 

Freestyle: Ravi Kumar (57 kg), Rahul Aware (61 kg), Naveen (70 kg), Narsingh Yadav (74 kg), Gaurav Baliyan (79 kg), Deepak Punia (86 kg), Satyavrat Kadian (97 kg), Sumit (125 kg)

Greco Roman: Arjun Halakurki (55 kg), Gyanendra (60 kg), Sachin Rana (63 kg), Ashu (67 kg), Aditya Kundu (72 kg), Sajan (77 kg), Gurpreet Singh (82 kg), Sunil Kumar (87 kg), Hardeep ( 97kg), Naveen (130 kg)

Women’s Wrestling: Nirmala Devi (50 kg), Pinky (55 kg), Anshu (57 kg), Sarita (59 kg), Sonam (65 kg), Sakshi Malik (65 kg), Divya Kakran (68 kg), Gursharan Kaur (72 kg), Kiran (76 kg)



Embed Code